Bootstrapwarebootstrapware

FastComments

Bootstrapware Comments vs FastComments

FastComments is real, inexpensive competition: live comments, documented SSO, and a bill that moves with traffic and stored comments. Bootstrapware charges the workspace. BYO keeps the discussion text on your backend.

Prices below were read on September 26, 2026 from fastcomments.com/traffic-pricing. SSO behavior is from their SSO access-control guide. Re-check those pages before you treat a number as current.

Published prices

PlanPrice printed that day
Flex$0.99 per month, plus the unit rates below. Billed from usage, not signup date.
Creators$5.99 per month. Monthly figure only on the page we fetched.
Pro$99 per month.
Free tierFAQ: no official free tier. 30-day trial, no card.
BootstrapwareLocal and test free. BYO $9.99 or Hosted $19.99 per workspace per month. No usage meter on the invoice.

Flex unit rates on that page:

  • Site $10, first site free
  • Page loads $1 per 100,000
  • Comments stored $1 per 100,000
  • SSO users $1 per 1,000
  • API credits $1 per 50,000
  • Moderator $5, admin $10 with the first admin free

Authorization and storage

Their pricing navigation says not to make users sign in to another account. SSO, in their FAQ, means one login for the site and for commenting. The access-control guide lets you limit users to pages or threads, and to mentions inside an SSO group. A null group is unlimited. That is their model. It is not the same shape as a host-signed token bound to one tenant and resource id.

The meter is “comments stored,” and their FAQ discusses migrating data in from other providers. We did not find a customer-database adapter on the pages fetched. Bootstrapware BYO is that adapter: discussion text stays on your backend. Hosted is the optional store, priced as Hosted.

Resolve and reopen were not stated on the pages we used. Mentions and group limits were. Moderation staff seats were on the price list. Bootstrapware checks a moderate permission and records who deleted a comment. We do not staff a moderation queue, and we do not send email.

Our ladder is on Comments pricing. A summed “Flex at this traffic versus $19.99” figure needs their calculator, with the inputs written down. This page leaves that total out.

FAQ

Can people comment with the host login?

Yes, when SSO is on. Their pricing navigation says not to make users sign in to another account. A separate FastComments account appears when SSO is off.

What did FastComments charge?

On September 26, 2026, Flex was $0.99 per month plus unit rates for sites, page loads, stored comments, SSO users, API credits, and staff seats. Creators was $5.99 per month. Pro was $99 per month. Their FAQ said there was no official free tier, with a 30-day trial. Re-check fastcomments.com/traffic-pricing before you rely on a figure.

Can I add their usage rates into one monthly number?

Not from this page. A dollar comparison needs their calculator on the day you publish it, with the inputs printed beside the result. This page records the unit rates and does not invent a scenario total.

Do they resolve threads?

Resolve and reopen were not stated on the pricing page or the SSO access-control guide we read. This page does not claim they have it, and it does not claim they lack it.

Related: Liveblocks · Talkyard · Authorization guide · All comparisons